Home Page
Rules for the 2018 Contests are not yet final.  We will announce them soon.
However, all stories received between 9/1/2017 and 8/31/2018 are eligible.

The Preservation Foundation 2017 Contests
For Unpublished Writers

For purposes of these contests, unpublished writers are defined as those whose creative writing (as opposed to writing for freelance or salaried jobs) has never produced revenues of over $750 in any single year.  The Preservation Foundation has sole authority to rule on any writer's eligibility, the appropriateness of stories for entry, contest rules, and all other matters relating to the contest.

Drawing of a pyramid with a treasure inside.

Regular Story Submissions--No Limit

  Just to be clear--while there is a limit of three entries in each of the contests, writers should continue to submit stories not meant for the contests, both nonfiction and fiction, for posting on our site.  There is no limit.  Our purpose is to publish your works and you don't have to enter any contests for us to do that.  

Rules For the 2017 Contests

    This year we will have prizes for three categories of nonfiction: Biographical Nonfiction, Travel Nonfiction, and General Nonfiction.

    Stories must be between 1500--10,000 words in length.

    Stories posted from September 1, 2016, through August 31, 2017, are eligible if otherwise qualified.

    Just to be clear, we claim no rights to your storys.  They are published with your name as copyright holder.  However, since our object is to preserve these stories for future generations, not to put them up one year and take them down the next,
all contest entries will be posted on our web site and must remain on the site for as long as the Preservation Foundation exists.  We will, however, have no objection to the stories being published elsewhere.  Contact us if you need clarification.

    Stories must be submitted as electronic files.  No paper manuscripts can be considered.  See How to submit a story

    No story may be entered in more than one contest.
    The author should state which contest he/she is entering when making the submission.

    Stories entered in any of our previous contests will not be eligible unless they have been extensively revised.

    A writer may enter up to three stories in each contest.  There are no entry fees. 

   First prize in each category will be $100.  Winners, runner-ups, and finalists in each category will receive certificates of recognition suitable for framing.

Biographical Nonfiction

    A biographical entry must be a true story of an individual(s) known to the author personally--not a fictional or historical character.  Autobiography, of course, must be the true story about the author's life, the whole or an episode.  

General Nonfiction Contest

    Any appropriate nonfiction topic is eligible.  Stories must be true, not semi-fictional accounts.  

Travel Nonfiction Contest

    Stories should be factual and true accounts of a trip taken by the author or a person or persons know by the author.


     As we write this, the 2017 deadline is over eleven months away, so we can't be sure if the same process will apply that has served us in the past.  However, if changes must be made we will make them.  If not, then the judging will be done as we did it for the 2016 contests. Click here to find out how that was done.


    We will continue to accept new fictional stories of all types for display on the site.  However, we haven't had a fiction contest since 2000 and won't this year.  We love to read your stories though and are happy to post them. This decisions is based on our belief that many Internet sites now offer programs for writers of fiction, while very few encourage nonfiction. We believe too that writers of fiction are also capable of writing about real events in their own lives and the lives of those they know.  So get busy and prove us right!


The Preservation Foundation, Inc., A Nonprofit Book Publisher